158. KADIA “The Outlandish Collection” (EP) (2017).

(Image: Kadia)

I was very impressed with Kadia‘s album East Of Alexandria which I reviewed last year (see my article #91). So I was keen to hear this, their new EP The Outlandish Collection (released on 1st April), and the band kindly sent me downloads to review this too….

It is a five track set of trad songs; but delivered in Kadia’s inimitable style – characterised by superb arrangements; fine musicianship and wonderful vocal harmonies.

Tracks are: Captain Ward; Cricketers Set (Instr.); Lady Isabel And The Elf Knight; The Keeper; and Randy Dandy. All fine renditions I must say. Nautical themes are present in some of the songs as with the Eden album; and if its the vocal harmonies that floats your boat, then you will find ‘The Keeper’ is sublimely impressive – I did! But everything on this EP is wonderful anyway.

I have only worked from downloads at the moment so I cannot comment exactly on the CD sleeve as yet. I plan to see the band when they play at a Folk Club not too far from me soon, so a gig review should be forthcoming too. The EP is available via Kadia’s website. PTMQ

This is the official video for ‘Lady Isabel And The Elf Knight’

One thought on “158. KADIA “The Outlandish Collection” (EP) (2017).

  1. Pingback: 166. KADIA (with support CHARLIE LIMM + Open Floor) at LOUGHTON FOLK CLUB, Essex. Thursday 27th April 2017. | Phil the Music Quill

Leave a Reply

