144. DENNIS HOMES “Sunset To Song Rise” (2017)

(Pic: Dennis Homes)

(Pic: Dennis Homes)

I ran into singer/guitarist/song-writer Dennis Homes at a gig last year (See my review #101); and he told me that he was working on a new album, which I said I’d be interested to hear; so recently he sent me a CD copy for review.

Dennis was of course once a member of late ’60’s psychedelic folkie band Synanthesia, whose eponymous album is apparently much sought after by vinyl collectors these days. Since then he has been writing and performing his own material.

Over the last few months I’d bumped into Dennis a few times at Folk/acoustic clubs, and seen him play a couple of songs from his new collection; namely ‘A Battered Old Guitar’ and ‘Bunjies, Cousins And Troubadour’. I liked them, so I was glad to get hold of the recorded versions.

Its a ten track collection of songs all penned by Dennis himself. There’s quite a variety of genres/styles embraced in the album, with influences from Folk to Rock’n’Roll; from Country to stage shows/musicals. One thing that is consistent throughout though, are the thoughtful song arrangements and the high quality of the clearly sung lyrics. It is obvious that Dennis has put a lot of time and effort into this collection.

I particularly liked the finished versions of the two songs that I’d already heard: ‘A Battered Old Guitar’ with its Duane Eddy-esque riffs; and Bunjies…’ which is of course about the three very influential London Folk clubs of the ’60s. I also liked the opener ‘Keep That Music Playing’ and the finale ‘The Night They Danced Under The Stars’ –  a wartime love story.

The CD comes in a smart card gate-fold case – the type with the disc pressed into the right-hand side. It has basic credits, photos and track list etc; but no lyrics or further info. I like the album because it is inventive and interesting, with great lyrics and fine arrangements. It is available from Dennis’ website, or Amazon. PTMQ

Leave a Reply

