139. ROD STANDEN (+ Open Floor) at ROMFORD FOLK CLUB. Tuesday 10th January, 2017

Rod with The Quill (Photo: Garry W)

Rod Standen with backing from The Quill (Photo: Garry W)

When my friend Rod Standen told me that Garry Walker of Romford Folk Club had given him a Feature Night, I was of course keen to go along. These monthly Feature Nights at RFC, are where one of the club’s regulars are asked to perform a set. The next one (in February) will be Jo Gregory.

I arrived at the venue after work, and Rod showed me his Set List, which comprised of a great variety of covers. Surprisingly, he didn’t want to perform any of the tracks from his album Poetic Force (which I reviewed last year. See entry #109). Another surprise was that although Rod often asks me to join him for the occasional number, this time he wanted me to accompany him for every song. Flattered, I of course agreed.

But first, the usual Open Floor section of the night. All the regulars played one or two good songs. Pick of the bunch this week were in my opinion, Smolovik’s cover of Robert Johnson’s classic ‘Crossroads’; and club boss Garry Walker’s self-penned ‘Romford Town’. As a tribute to Peter Sarstedt who died recently, I played his timeless classic ‘Where Do You Go To My Lovely’; and I was also requested to play my silly song ‘Grandad’s 7 Hats’.

Rod’s eclectic set included classics such as ‘Proud Mary’; ‘Sailing’; ‘Gypsy Rover’;  ‘Durham Town’; ‘Love Is All Around’; ‘Streets Of London’; ‘Country Roads’; and an old favourite of Rod’s ‘Travellin’ Down That Lonesome Road’. Rod’s instruments of choice, were an old banjo (that he’d bought as a wreck from Ebay and has recently restored to a very good condition indeed) and acoustic guitar of course. Encore was demanded; and Rod chose to play ‘Scarborough Fair’. The set finished with great applause. There was at all times, a great deal of audience participation during the set, and this is something that Rod was aiming for all along. I was glad to be asked to join him. A good evening’s entertainment. Thanks to Rod, the club, and all the regulars. PTMQ

One thought on “139. ROD STANDEN (+ Open Floor) at ROMFORD FOLK CLUB. Tuesday 10th January, 2017

  1. Pingback: 151. JO GREGORY (+ Open Floor) at RFC. Tuesday, 28th February 2017 | Phil the Music Quill

Leave a Reply

