138. RUBY AND THE REVELATORS’ new single “Walk With me”

ruby-tiger-walk-with-meI always look forward to hearing what Sussex-based Blues singer Ruby Tiger has been up to with her band The Revelators. Their new single (released just before Christmas as a digital download only), is a wonderfully moody cover of King Rollo’s heartfelt ‘Walk With Me’. I mentioned Rollo’s original version when I reviewed his album Easy Street a  couple of years ago (see my review #52).

Rollo is of course a close friend of Ruby’s and was once a member of The Revelators himself. His original was a very good song which I liked a lot; but what Ruby and her band have done is elevate it to an entirely different level. Ruby’s soulful vocal on the number is superb – she really feels the song and gives it a generally emotive ambiance.  Musicianship from all the members of the band is wonderful – but especially the remarkable lead guitar from Louise (a little Blackmore / Greeny I thought on first hearing it).

I believe the band are currently working on a new album; and that is something I’m looking forward to hearing, I must say. All profits from the single will go to the charity Hand In Hand For Syria – a worthy cause. It is available from Bandcamp for only £1. A big thumbs up from The Quill. PTMQ.

One thought on “138. RUBY AND THE REVELATORS’ new single “Walk With me”

  1. Pingback: 163. RUBY AND THE REVELATORS “Walk With Me” (2017) | Phil the Music Quill

Leave a Reply

