136. IAN PETRIE (+ Open Floor) at ROMFORD FOLK CLUB. Tuesday 6th December 2016.

Mr.Petrie (Photo: Garry Walker, RFC)

Mr.Petrie (Photo: Garry Walker, RFC)

Ian Petrie is a name I’d been hearing on and off for some time; but I’d never seen him live so it was high time I put that right. So when I heard that this Kent-based singer / song-writer was to play my local Folk club, I of course went along. Ian has been around for a while, having been a member of several bands such as Dolphin Smile, Skinners Rats and his own outfit The Big Ian Petrie Band. On this occasion though, he was to play a two-part solo set.

But first, Ian’s set was preceded by the usual Open Floor spots. Best of the bunch this week were father and daughter duo Steve and Hannah O’Driscoll; and newcomer Liam who played a great cover of Knopfler’s ‘Romeo And Juliet’. And of course, a great variety of styles and abilities were represented by all who took part. I played Coverdale’s ‘Don’t Fade Away’.

Ian got through the gamut of his repertoire – songs which were funny, clever, and/or thoughtful; and at all times highly entertaining, such as: ‘Face Book Rant’; ‘Go For It’; and ‘Sixty Years’. He spoke a little about each of his songs beforehand – which is something I like to hear. He stated that you can write a song about anything; then treated us to his amusing song that is about nothing at all: ‘Nobody’.

At one point he pulled out an Omnichord and played a singular and excellent cover of Dylan’s / Adele’s ‘Make You Feel My Love’. And at half time, he spoke to some of us about it and I had a play with it. A really interesting instrument that I’ve not encountered before.

I had a chat with Ian after the gig and he gave me his band’s two albums (I Wish That I Could Fly; and Along The B2000!) and his two solo EPs: Sketchbook; and Sketchbook 2). If you like clever and funny songs, I’d recommend getting along to one of Ian’s gigs if you can. An enjoyable evening was had by all. PTMQ

Leave a Reply

