117. RICHIE MILTON AND THE LOWDOWN “Pre-Katrina” (Right Track Records, 2016)

Pre-Katrina CD cover (Pic: Richie Milton)

Pre-Katrina CD cover (Pic: Richie Milton)

My regular readers will already be well aware of the name Richie Milton, in his capacity as one half of the popular Skiffle’n’Blues/Rockney duet Milton And Farrow. (See below for a list of my earlier reviews on this dynamic duo). But Richie of course, has another string to his bow; in the form of his own band The Lowdown.

At a Milton-Farrow gig recently, Richie handed me a copy of his own band’s new CD, Pre-Katrina (2016). This new collection has already received some critical acclaim; with airplay on none other than the prestigious Paul Jones Show on BBC Radio 2.

The Lowdown consist of Richie Milton himself (guitar and vocals); Linda Hall (vocals); Steve King (Piano and Sax); Ed Spevock (Drums); Eddie Masters (Bass); and Dick Hanson (Trumpet). As fine a group of musos you’ll ever listen to – each very impressive in their field.

This is a fifteen track collection of original songs; all penned by Richie bar one (Steve King’s ‘Ghosts On Rampart Street’). There was only one song among them that I previously knew – ‘Keep My Engine Clean’ (more on that later) – all others were new to me. Yet I felt as if I knew them all; for they remind me of family parties when I was a kid; because Richie seems to have accurately created a lot of grooves that are reminiscent of a late 50s / early 60s Juke Box – whilst still sounding original! (I’m guessing that Richie was a teenager around this time!) Song construction and lyric writing are superb. Many styles of period Pop / Rock’n’Roll are represented – there’s even a Ska instrumental (‘More Than You’ll Ever Know’).

I was particularly impressed with Richie’s vocals and generally with the fine Horn arrangements. I liked Linda’s vocals too – especially on ‘Things Ain’t Been The Same’ (an instrumental version appears at the end of the album too). My favourite track was the laid-back Jazz-Blues ‘How Come Baby?’ which is wonderful. And I’ve heard ‘Keep My Engine Clean’ with its bawdy euphemisms before; because it often appears in the Milton-Farrow live set – albeit this version in a kind of Zydeco-Ska form.  Other highlights for me were ‘I See Love’ with its walking bass line; ‘Ghosts…’ with its Latin vibe; and ‘Back To Rock’n’Roll’ which speaks for itself. Its all a lot of fun anyway!

The CD is available from Richie’s website (below); or from gigs. I recommend it – its a great album. PTMQ

Click here for a link to Richie’s website

Click for link to Paul Jones Show BBC Radio 2.

My earlier reviews of Milton And Farrow…

22. THE MILTON-FARROW SKIFFLE ‘n’ BLUES BAND Skiffleodeon EP (2014)

33. MILTON AND FARROW at ONAPLATE CAFE, Shenfiels, Essex. January 2015

63. MONDAY BLUES AT PEGGY SUE’S with MILTON AND FARROW. AUGUST 2015.

One thought on “117. RICHIE MILTON AND THE LOWDOWN “Pre-Katrina” (Right Track Records, 2016)

  1. Pingback: 118. THE CADILLAC KINGS “The Secret Of My Success” (33 Records, 2016) | Phil the Music Quill

Leave a Reply

