116. TANYA PICHE BLUES BAND New single “I Said Please” (2016)

(Pic: TPBB)

(Pic: TPBB)

This is one of the three new songs from The Tanya Piché Blues Band that I was privileged to be present at the recording of, in Basildon Recording Studio recently (see my article #111).

Its a slow, moody piece that accurately taps into an authentic Blues vibe. Tanya explains it herself… ‘I wrote it with melody in mind, instructing the boys to the chords, riff and Muddy Waters gospel feel / influence. I wanted the hook to be edgy and contradictory – pleading, to menacing, to declaration of love; as it’s essentially a love song which is genderless and could be also taken as a spiritual gospel-like experience/story.’ Well said, that lady!

I wasn’t there at its conception of course, but I know the work that went into the song because I was there at its birth in the studio. Well written; nicely arranged; sung from the heart; and expertly played by all (especially the lead solo from David Warne); its a great song that’ll go down a storm at gigs.

The single will be released on iTunes; Spotyfy; Amazon and Deezer; from 14th August 2016. It will feature on the band’s forthcoming album, due for release around November time; and that’s certainly something I’m looking forward to. PTMQ.

Leave a Reply

