76. DEVONBIRD Album launch gig (+ HARPING MAD; & GREG HANCOCK) in the Clifford Room, BARNFIELD THEATRE, Exeter, Devon. Friday 9th October, 2015. An on-line review.

Devonbird in full flight (Photo: Brent Ellicot)

Devonbird in full flight (Photo: Brent Ellicot)

Preamble: I was unfortunately not able to attend this gig due to various reasons, although I had been specifically invited by my friends in Devonbird. That was a great shame, as it was a very important one in the career of the band that I’d have liked to have attended – i.e: the official launch of their second album Turning Of The Year (See my review #71). However, although I was peeved at my own inability to be there, the band’s guitarist Rob had told me that the gig was to be streamed live on line via Livestream.com, and I would therefore be able to see it nonetheless. This is the first review I’ve written from a live stream; although I have seen them before.

Technical Talk:  I wasn’t too happy though, about the quality / inaudibility of sound; which somewhat spoilt my enjoyment of the first two sets; although I don’t know if it was the website or my laptop at fault. Master Of Ceremonies Tony Colkin, spoke without mic too; which for me sitting in Essex, meant utter silence when he spoke! I’m glad to say that this was improved to an acceptable level for the main Devonbird set though, as Tony had been advised to use the mic, and the sound generally improved in volume and quality too. Sight and sound were also slightly out of synch throughout the whole evening, but nothing I couldn’t live with! Generally the filming was good though, I must say – various angles were covered at appropriate times; and it was always in focus. Lighting was good; and I experienced no buffering.

The Greg Hancock Set:  Greg played a short solo set of three songs from his excellent new EP Comfortable Hatred. (For a review of this EP, see my entry #60). He gave us his ‘Three Conversations’; ‘Buckles And Buttons’; and ‘Old Lady’. Although the sound that I was receiving was unacceptable, I am familiar with these songs, and I enjoyed the set as best I could. I had seen him play live before; at Exeter Oxjam last year (see my review #28). On that occasion he performed with his quartet, but this time he was alone. On both occasions he gave a fine performance.

The Harping Mad Set:  I was not familiar with this duet at all, so I was looking forward to seeing them. Unfortunately it was their set that suffered most from the poor sound quality, so I learnt very little about them or their music. There was a lady on Harp and a man on recorders; and they looked good. I say ‘looked good’ because I could hardly hear a note or a word! The recorders came through well enough, but the harp and vocals were barely audible; and that is a great shame because I wanted to hear them. As far as I could hear though, they were very good indeed.

The Devonbird Set:  MoC Tony (violinist Sophia’s Dad) introduced the band and mentioned that he used to be their original guitarist – a fact that had somehow previously eluded me! My readers may remember Tony’s fine portrayal of a Saracen in the band’s video for the song ‘Greenwood Tree’. (See my review #58). For those not familiar with the line-up, Devonbird currently consist of: Kath Bird (vocals, guitar, whistle); Sophia Colkin (fiddle); and Rob Wheaton (guitar). These three regulars were supplemented for the night by the addition of an excellent drummer / percussionist: Martyn Hillstead. 

The set began with ‘Mary’, a Trad-style song about Kath’s Nan. This was followed by the Irish tunes ‘King Of The Fairies / Morrison’s Jig’. Kath, barefoot and perfectly in synch with Sophia’s fine fiddling, was impressive; while at all times Rob and Martyn (with bodhran) kept a reliable rhythm. This is a lively number, and the audience were keen to get involved by clapping along.

Every song from the new album was played, from the foot-tapping ‘Rain Dance’, to the wonderful ‘Dead King’s Land’ with its reverb’ed guitar intro. In addition they played ‘The Bold Grenadier’ – which Kath told us was the first song she ever sang live. (This song has not appeared on either of the band’s two albums). Also they gave us ‘The Crow On The Craddle’; and from the first album, their medley ‘Brannigan’s Ball…’ et al. Their main set finished with the remarkable ‘Star People’, for which Sophia played her electric fiddle, and Rob his 12-string. Great stuff!

Encore!  Of course, the choice for encore – and the only track from the new album not yet played – was the band’s wonderful celebration of Sylvania: ‘Greenwood Tree / Jenny Wren’. It was a fitting end to the show. Worthy applause having been received, all that was left was for Kath to thank all those who had made the night possible – and memorable.

It was a great shame about the technical difficulties during the first part of the evening (had I been there in person, I needn’t have worried of course); but it was a good performance from all the musicians concerned. The second album release from Devonbird is now available, and in my opinion, well worth purchasing. See the band live too if you can. PTMQ

For more info about Devonbird, see my articles: #4 All About Devonbird;  #28 Oxjam Folk Fest;  #57 Practice and Planning;  #58 Video Shooting;  #59 at Romford Folk Club; and  #71 Turning Of The Year Album Review.

The band’s revamped website is here….

http://www.devonbird.co.uk/

2 thoughts on “76. DEVONBIRD Album launch gig (+ HARPING MAD; & GREG HANCOCK) in the Clifford Room, BARNFIELD THEATRE, Exeter, Devon. Friday 9th October, 2015. An on-line review.

  1. George Totorean

    Hi Phil,

    I’m part of the Beard Productions crew, setup master and cameraman extraordinaire (responsible with the moving camera). Thank you for your kind words about the stream, yet at the same time we have to apologise for the sound issues you were having. The mixing was done by someone else, so we didn’t have much control over it. The video audio sync is again unfortunate, but that’s the nature of the beast, we have recorded the entire show and will forward the recordings to the artists, so that they can upload them to their respective social media sites in the coming days. The recordings do not have the audio sync issues, these become more evident when the event is live. We are always aiming to improve and have got a couple of solutions to these issues in the pipeline, should we get booked by other bands and where the sync issues are more evident…

    A great evening, overall, a very enjoyable experience

    Best regards,
    George T

    Reply
    1. PTMQ Post author

      Thanks for your message, George.

      Your camera work was commendable. As I said it was only the sound that was an issue – for the first half anyway. The synch problem was minor. I had a similar problem with a streamed gig last week from a different website which I wanted to review but was totally unable to do so. So I wasn’t sure if it was my laptop that was the problem – although I’ve had no trouble with streamed sport events. I’m sure I’ll get to see the gig again!

      Good luck to you and Beard Productions for future events.

      Regards, Phil

      Reply

Leave a Reply

