62. RUBY TIGER’s new single: ‘It Hurts Me Too’; and a little about her forthcoming live EP.

I was delighted to hear that my friend, Blues singer Ruby Tiger had recorded a new single entitled ‘It Hurts Me Too’. I’d been wondering if she would be in the studio again sometime soon; because its been a year since the release of her wonderful debut EP Vistas. She invited me to the Vistas EP launch party in her hometown of Chichester, Sussex, at that time; and I was very impressed by both the EP and the live performance given by herself and her band, The Revelators. (See my Blog entry #16).

Ruby Tiger: It hurts me too (Photo by permission of Oliva Stevens)

Ruby Tiger: It hurts me too (Photo by permission of Olivia Stevens)

‘It Hurts Me Too’ is, of course, a cover of the old Blues standard first recorded by Tampa Red – and perhaps more famously by Elmore James. I like it a lot. My readers will already know that I appreciate a cover; but it has to be a fresh interpretation for me, not a slavish copy – otherwise I can see no point in doing it. The song has been covered by many an artist, with many a take, of course, but I’m glad to report that Ruby has given this old staple a fine new make-over; arranged in collaboration with her dear friend King Rollo, a veteran Bluesman and one-time member of The Revelators (and a name well-known to this Blog, see entry #52).

Ruby describes the song for herself very well indeed….

‘This was one of the first tracks that I began performing with King Rollo some 5 years ago. I found a version by 70’s troubadour Karen Dalton much admired by Dylan and fell in love with the more folky stripped back treatment, which lent the lyrics a more yearning affect…this is what I’ve striven to achieve; to draw out all the emotion that the song’s unique take on how it feels to love someone, evokes’.

If you download the track, I think you’ll agree that Ruby has achieved exactly what she set out to do with this song. Her soulful voice is a joy to hear. She conveys the emotion that she intended – yet remains controlled throughout. I think there is a great deal of Ruby herself in this song; and that’s why it works so well – its from the heart. Rollo’s guitar work is excellent, as we’ve come to expect; and there is additional Lap Steel Guitar from Nick Evans. The song was produced and recorded by King Rollo; and a fine job he’s done too. It will only be available as a download though (link below).

So what else does Ruby have in the pipeline at the moment? When I spoke to her on the phone the other day, she was excited not only about the release of this new single; but also about her forthcoming live EP. This was recorded on 14th July, at The Tuesday Night Music Club in Coulsdon, Surrey; and mixed by Simon Taylor at EQ Audio. It will contain 5 or 6 tracks from the Ruby And The Revelators’ set played that evening – which by all accounts was a great show. The new EP should be available by mid-September; and I’m certainly looking forward to hearing it.

Ruby and her band are a great live act and I’d recommend going to see them. They’ve been gigging further afield than their South Coast homebase lately too – including London’s prestigious 100 Club in Oxford Street – and that is a measure of their increasing popularity. Forthcoming gigs are detailed on Ruby’s website (see below). Enjoy! PTMQ

Here is a link to Bandcamp where you can download the song…

https://rubytiger.bandcamp.com/track/it-hurts-me-too-elmore-james

Here is a link to Ruby’s website….

http://rubytigersings.com/

4 thoughts on “62. RUBY TIGER’s new single: ‘It Hurts Me Too’; and a little about her forthcoming live EP.

  1. Rollo

    Hi Phil, Good to see the quill in action again. Just to correct an error: The ‘Hurts Me Too’ track was recorded and produced by King Rollo, and not Clapton-Waller Records. Can’t think how that error crept in…
    Regards,
    Rollo

    Reply
    1. PTMQ Post author

      Hi Rollo. I do apologise for the error – I probably misunderstood what Livvy said! I have changed it. Regards, Phil

      Reply
  2. Pingback: 81. RUBY AND THE REVELATORS’ : ‘LIVE’ at The Tuesday Night Music Club (EP) (2015) | Phil the Music Quill

  3. Pingback: 163. RUBY AND THE REVELATORS “Walk With Me” (2017) | Phil the Music Quill

Leave a Reply

