48. JENNY SMITH and THE STEVIE SMITH TRIO at ‘COMMUTER JAZZ’ in the ZING CAFE BAR, LINCOLN PERFORMING ARTS CENTRE. Friday, 24th April, 2015.

(Photo: PTMQ)

Jenny, Stevie and the boys at Zing Café Bar. (Photo: PTMQ)

Well, I’m not sure that I’ve ever been to two gigs in one day before (excluding festivals, of course), but there’s a first time for everything. Finding myself in the beautiful City of Lincoln for a few days, I thought I’d check out some music whilst there.  I already had tickets for the Illegal Eagles on this evening (see my review #49), when I found out that Jazz singer Jenny Smith backed by The Stevie Smith Trio were to play a free gig between 5 – 7pm, at ‘Commuter Jazz’ in the Zing Café Bar at the Lincoln Performing Arts Centre. So I went along to hear at least a few songs of their set before going to the Eagles tribute gig, a lttle distance from the Arts Centre.

I like the idea behind ‘Commuter Jazz’; its nice to chill out with friends and colleagues over a coffee or a glass of wine, after a hard week at work, and listen to some good music. And Zing is a great place to do exactly that. Its on the Uni Campus, but there were people of all ages present, and I like to see that at a gig – as I believe that no form of music needs to be age-defined. The bar staff at Zing were friendly and helpful too.

(Photo: PTMQ)

Jazz commuter! Jenny Smith (Photo: PTMQ)

As my regular readers will know, Jazz is not really my thing, but I have a great respect for it; and funny enough this was the second Jazz gig that I’d attended that week (see my review of Rance’s Rockin’ Chair Band on this Blog #46); and I do like to talk about a variety of genres on my Blog. Not that I feel that I’m qualified to write about Jazz with any authority. But I must say, I was very impressed by Jenny and the band – at least, for the first few numbers from their set that I had time to listen to.

Jenny has been making a name for herself on the Jazz scene of late, and has recently released her debut album: Love Holds Strong, with her own band The Jenny Smith Quintet. By all accounts its a good collection. On this occasion though, she was backed by The Stevie Smith Trio; consisting of Stevie Smith himself (drums); John Trier (piano); and Tom Rivierè (bass).

To be honest, it was exactly the kind of Jazz that I was expecting / hoping to hear – very relaxing and enjoyable; an ideal vibe for the situation. Jenny has a marvellous voice, and vocal style that is a joy to hear. The band were very good too – all three proved themselves to be fine musicians; tight together; and each did at least one solo spot. I didn’t know any of the songs (please excuse my ignorance!), but I enjoyed everything I heard. I particularly liked a number which I think was called ‘Feel Like Making Love’ (?). Unfortunately, we had to leave after about five songs, but it was a very enjoyable experience nonetheless.

My thanks to Jenny and the band; and to all at Zing. PTMQ

Here is a link to Jenny’s website…. http://www.jennysmithmusic.com/

One thought on “48. JENNY SMITH and THE STEVIE SMITH TRIO at ‘COMMUTER JAZZ’ in the ZING CAFE BAR, LINCOLN PERFORMING ARTS CENTRE. Friday, 24th April, 2015.

  1. Pingback: 49. THE ILLEGAL EAGLES at LINCOLN THEATRE ROYAL. Friday, 24th April, 2015 | Phil the Music Quill

Leave a Reply

